Scholarship Signings - May 16, 2017
5/16/2017 8:48 PM

McCracken County High School recognized the following Seniors for their accomplishments and signing college scholarships:


Ben Hodges – Centre College – Cross Country/Track

Varsity Cross Country and Varsity Track for 4years each

Cross Country Co-Captain 2016

Cross Country State Qualifier 2015 and 2016

First Team Academic All State – 2015 and 2016Cross Country Seasons

According to Milesplit – one of the top 2 most improved cross country runners from freshman to senior year in state of KY

Team Most Improved 2014 and 2015 Seasons

2017 Regional Runner Up and State Qualifier in 4x800m Relay Team

First Team Academic All State – 2017 Track Season

AP Scholar


National Society of High School Scholars


Spanish Honor Society

Beta Club

Band (9-10 grade)


Ashley Zimmerman – Murray State University – Soccer

4 year starter – Soccer

3 time First Team All Region – Soccer

2 time District MVP – Soccer

53 career goals

35 career assists

3 time state qualifier - Track

4 time state qualifier – Cross Country

2013 Kentucky State Cup Champion and 2014 State Cup Finalist with West KY

Futbol Club

2016 and 2017 Tennessee State Cup Semi Finalist with FC Alliance


Mason Vinyard – Wabash Valley College – Baseball

High school baseball for 5 years

All Tournament Team Perfect Game WWBA World Championship

2017 Rawling Perfect Game Pre Season All Region Team

2016 State Semifinalist Team


Jade Cochran – Southern Illinois University – Cheer

              Fashion Design/Merchandising Student

              All Girl Cheer Squad – 1 year

              Coed Cheer Squad – 3 years

              National Honor Society

              Future Business Leaders of America

              Environmental Club

              2 Year Member of McCracken’s Vans Custom Culture Team

  Active Member at Grace Episcopal Church – Serves as an acolyte and volunteers at the Community Kitchen

              2017 UCA National Champion


Alex Crenshaw – Western Kentucky University – Cheer

              Junior Year – Most Improved Award

              Senior Year – Leadership Award

              Academic Award for 3.5 GPA or higher

              2017 UCA National Champion

              Majoring in Exercise Science


Adia Mudd – Morehead State University – Cheer

2014 and 2017 UCA National Champion

Maintained a 3.5or higher GPA throughout high school

Received Academic All-State Award all four years

110% and Senior Award at Coed Cheer Banquet 2016-17

2 Year Peer Tutor


Taylor Smith – Austin Peay State University – Cheer

              Pursuing a Marketing Degree

              Coed Cheer Team – 4 Years

              Freshman Year – Rookie of the Year

              2014and 2017 UCA National Champion

              Honor Student

              Beta Club

              Pep Club

              Yearbook Staff


Eli Case – University of Tennessee at Martin – Band

McCracken County High School Band                                                   

                        Jazz Bands -Rhythm Section Leader

                        Marching Band -Pit and Battery Section Leader

                        Concert Bands -Percussion Section Leader

                        Percussion Ensembles -Teaching/Conducting Assistant

Logan Blackman Wind Symphony - Member 2015-Present -Percussion

1st District KMEA Honor Band and Jazz Band - Member 2015-2017 -Percussion and Timpani

Murray State University Quad State Symphony Band - Member 2015-2017 -Timpani

GT Leadership - Member 2005-Present


Ashley Dees – Murray State University – Band

Member of the All-District Bands 2012-2017 - 

Member of the Murray State Quad-State Band 2017 

Graduating with honors 

Distinguished Rating at Solo/Ensemble 3 years

Attending Murray State University in the Fall of 2017 on both music and academic scholarships


Madeline Downs – Murray State University  – Band

Member of MCHS Wind Ensemble 4 years

Member of the MCHS Drum line 3 years

All-District Band member - 4 years

Quad-State Band- Top band 2 years

Solo/Ensemble Distinguished Rating 4 years

Kentucky All-State Band Member 2017 - 1st Chair Concert Band 

Graduating with honors


Ahren Hess – University of Louisville – Band

3 Year Member of the MCHS Wind Ensemble 1st Chair 2yrs

3 Year Member of the MCHS top Jazz Band - McBig Band - Section Leader

Marching Band section leader 2017

All-District Band 3yrs- 1stchair 2017

All-District Jazz Band 3yrs - 1stchair 2016, 2017

Quad-State Band - 2 years top band

Univ. of Louisville Honor Band 2017

Distinguished Solo/Ensemble - 2 yrs

Jamey Abersold Jazz Camp 2016 

Ky Boys State 


Michael Largent – Murray State University – Choir

Choir for 11 years

Photography/Media Arts Club

MCHS Bands

Saint Thomas Moore Church Choir

Plans on majoring in Music Education


Michaela Walker – WKCTC – Choir

MCHS Choirs for four years

Currently sings soprano with Varsity Singers

She also serves as an invaluable mentor/section leader/administrative assistant in Women’s Select Ensemble and has done so for the past two years.

Michaela will attend WKCTC for two years and transfer to Murray State to pursue a degree in Music Therapy. 


Shelbe Overby – Malloy College/CAP 21 – Drama

Has attended four summer college programs for musical theatre, including the Texas Musical Theatre Workshop at the University of Texas in Austin, the Syracuse Summer College Program for Musical Theatre, the Cincinnati Conservatory of Music's Immersion Program, and the Performing Arts Project at Wake Forest University

Was accepted into GSA 2016

Has been in every MCHS Theatre Department show to date


President and Public Relations of Drama Club

Awarded with a certificate of recognition from the Diocese of Owensboro for faithful service and commitment to the church


Kendel Ponchock – Savannah College of Art and Design – Drama

2015 KY Governor's School for the Arts Alumnus- dramatic arts

2016/17 Drama Club Vice President, been a drama club member since 2014

Staff reporter for Mustang Messenger newspaper

Member of MCHS Varsity Singers

Been in a total of seven shows at McCracken County High School

MCHS Varsity coed cheerleading Leadership Award 2014

2014 National Champion in Varsity coed cheerleading

Honors graduate 

News Comments & Questions
No comments yet, be the first one?